Secrets to the PERFECT KALE CHIP

 

kale chips cooked on rack

kale chips cooked on rack

My kitchen is bursting at the seams with two things these days; delicata squash (more on this soon), and kale. This summer has been THE summer of kale in my life and although all these salads, smoothies, and cheesy kale won ton cups were delicious, I’ll admit the whole kale in everything bit was getting a little old. Until…. I did a little experiment.

My amazing CSA often offers all three types of kale and I did something radical- just for you, my readers! (all five of you). I tried purple kale, curly green kale, dinosaur kale, different temperatures, gas and electric stoves (I am a spoiled I admit it), convection versus baking, on a rack, on a cookie sheet, on parchment, on foil, curly side up, curly side down, with seasonings, just salted… AND I polled all 10 or so family members about which they preferred.

I knew I had a winner when my carnivore brother was poking around the kitchen after dinner asking “any more of those kale things?”

This is what I learned people, enjoy.

  • Dinosaur/Tuscan kale makes the BEST chips. Red/Purple
    Kale chips are pretty good too. Dinosaur kale (the best kale for salads) is surprisingly the best for chips too! All hail the winning kale!

  • Purple kale has a nuttier flavour and dinosaur kale has a more satisfying crunch.
  • No one prefers the green curly kale chips – save your green kale for smoothies, salads, and in cooked dishes
  • On a cookie sheet works the same as on a rack but the chips cool nicely on a rack
  • Oil each leaf evenly (after destemming) by rubbing briefly with oil and a bit of salt
  • Taste a leaf before you cook to determine if further salt is needed
  • It does not matter if the leaves are placed curly side up or down on the pan
  • Seasonings are overwhelming; let the kale speak for itself
  • Store in a jar and they will keep crisp for at least a day (if I could keep them around for more than 24 hours I could tell you if they keep longer)
  • Thank you to Oh She Glows for the kale chip tips and all dressed kale chip recipe which I used as a starting point the first time I made these.

my kale chip experiment

my kale chip experiment

Kale Chips

Purple or dinosaur kale (or combo)

oil ( a few tablespoons)

salt (to taste)

Preheat oven to 275 convection (or 300f if you don’t have convection). Pull chunks of kale leaves off stems and discard stems. Wash kale leaves and dry well. Pour oil and salt into a small bowl. Using your hands, rub a small amount of oil onto each leaf (both sides- make sure to get into the crevasses on the back of the dinosaur kale) which should only take a second or two per leaf. Lay on cookie sheet making sure leaves don’t overlap (1 bunch of kale will take at least 2 cookie sheets). Cook chips 1- 2 cookie sheets at a time (on the same rack) for 10-15 minutes or until crisp, cool on rack and serve immediately or store in jar.

crispy, perfect kale chips

crispy, perfect kale chips

Leave a Reply

