10 Minute Homemade Butter

whipping cream becomes 2 fabulous things in minutes

whipping cream becomes 2 fabulous things in minutes

A month or two ago I saw a guest chef on Rachel Ray using a stand mixer to make homemade butter from whipping cream. I was intrigued but alas, was stand mixer-less and didn’t look into it further.

Then last week I inherited my mother’s stand mixer, which I call Julia and pamper like my second child. Yesterday I ran out of butter and happened to have some leftover whipping cream in the fridge…. pretty soon I had BUTTER AND BUTTERMILK! So tasty and quick, and perfect on some Buttermilk Honey Bread. Incidentally, I used the beautiful buttermilk produced in the ‘churning’ process to make my next batch of bread!

I checked out a few recipes and ultimately found that the one from The Food Network helped to build my confidence in that it was extremely simple, but it was missing a few tips I would need along the way for guaranteed success.

cover your mixer bowl with plastic wrap to avoid a mess when the liquid separates

cover your mixer bowl with plastic wrap to avoid a mess when the liquid separates

Ultimately I made a slightly simplified version of the non-cultured butter from The Kitchn, and agree with the author that using your homemade butter in baking is tricky business. I did however use it to fry some perch and it was delicious!

here the butter has separated from the buttermilk and is ready to strain!

here the butter has separated from the buttermilk and is ready to strain!

10 Minute Homemade Butter

1 carton of whipping cream, chilled

1 stand mixer with whisk attachment

plastic wrap

cheesecloth

optional flavourings: salt, honey, chives, garlic, herb mix

____

Put whipping cream in mixer and cover most of bowl with plastic wrap to stop splatters.

Turn mixer on medium – high and leave on until cream separates into big clumps of solids and liquid (5-9 minutes).

Strain off liquid through cheesecloth and store (this is real buttermilk!)

Make a tight bundle with the cheesecloth and squeeze out remaining buttermilk.

Remove butter from cheesecloth and stir in optional seasonings (recommended: salt).

Store in airtight container in fridge.*

____

* In the recipe from The Kitchn that I adapted, there is an ice water rinsing step which I have skipped. I imagine this step prolongs storage time, but I was not concerned with this as the butter was consumed within a few days.

 

3 thoughts on “10 Minute Homemade Butter

  1. Pingback: Extra Crispy Baked Buttermilk Chicken Breasts | Cooking with Violet

Leave a Reply

